Endowed Chairs & Professorships

The Crown Family Professorship in Jewish History was created in 2000 and is currently divided between Associate Professor Marcus Moseley of the Department of German, who specializes in Yiddish and modern Hebrew literature, and Assistant Professor Yohanan Petrovsky-Shtern of the Department of History, whose field is modern Eastern European Jewish history.

Established in 1986 by the donors named in its title, the Philip M. and Ethel Klutznick Chair in Jewish Civilization has been held by Professor David Vital and by Professor Jacob Lassner, who served as Director of the Crown Family Center from 1993 to 2003. Upon Professor Lassner's retirement as the Klutznick Professor in 2007, Professor Kenneth Seeskin of the Department of Philosophy succeeded to the chair.

The Theodore Z. Weiss Professorship in Holocaust Studies originated in 2000 through the generosity of the Holocaust Educational Foundation and has been held since then by Professor Peter Hayes of the Department of History.

Peter Hayes, Theodore Zev Weiss Holocaust Educational Foundation Professor, Professor of History

Yohanan Petrovsky-Shtern The Crown Family Professor of Jewish Studies, Professor of History

Kenneth Seeskin, Philip M. and Ethel Klutznick Professor of Jewish Civilization, Professor of Philosophy and Religion

Upcoming Events

There are no upcoming events at this time.

Recent Photos


April 3, 2013